A petty misdemeanor is the lowest Minnesota level of offense that exists. In fact, a petty misdemeanor is not considered a crime. A person convicted of a petty misdemeanor can only be fined up to $300.00. A petty misdemeanor is not technically a crime because no jail time can be given.
A misdemeanor is a step up from a petty misdemeanor in Minnesota levels of offense. A person convicted of a misdemeanor can be sentenced up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. Crimes that are regarded as less serious are referred to as misdemeanors.
Under the state of Minnesota, a gross misdemeanor is a category of criminal activity that comes with a jail sentence of up to one year and a fine of up to $3,000. Gross misdemeanor cases are considered more serious than misdemeanor offenses but less severe than felony offenses.
A Felony is the most serious level of crime. A felony is defined as any crime punishable by at least a year in prison. Many felonies have mandatory minimum prison sentences as outlined in the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines. … For example, theft of property or services worth more than $1,000 is charged as a felony.